

May Committee Updates

Communications Committee

Chairs: Natalie Stier (Utah's Hogle Zoo) and Delanie Jellison (Santa Barbara Zoo) **Representatives:** Natalie Stier (Utah's Hogle Zoo), Delanie Jellison (Santa Barbara Zoo), Brent Weston (Dakota Zoo), Leanne Schuh (Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Center), Cher Vatalaro (Lehigh Valley Zoo), Liz Hines (Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium)

The committee discussed the first steps for creating an ACE for Wildlife Network branding style guide to help Network Members and Affiliates in their communications about the Network. View our agenda <u>here</u>.

Conservation Action Committee

Chairs: Erica Carnes (Blank Park Zoo), Kelsey Raffel (Como Park Zoo & Conservatory) **Representatives:** Bethanie West (Idaho Falls Zoo), Brooke Tucker (ZooMontana), Toby Seegert (Zoological Society of Milwaukee)

No May meeting

DEAI Committee

Chair: Crystal Fox (Lake Superior Zoo)

Representatives: Abigail Flores (Racine Zoo), Alejandra Medina (Minnesota Zoo), Sharon Spencer (Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens), Julie Pickard (Zoological Society of Milwaukee), Kirinne Slaughter (Visitor Studies Association)

The committee identified three goals for a document that will focus on highlighting the intersection of empathy work and DEAI initiatives. <u>View our agenda here.</u>



May Committee Updates

Membership Committee

Chair: Heather Autumn Russell (Akron Zoo), Isabelle Bieser (Zoological Society of Milwaukee) **Representatives:** Chris Berg (Shedd Aquarium), Heather Harelson Nutick (Oakland Zoo)

The committee discussed changes to the Network Partner application to align with the expansion plan outlined in the new draft bylaws. <u>View our agenda here.</u>

Steering Committee

Chair: Shana Kent (Alaska SeaLife Center)

Representatives: Aszya Summers (Lincoln Park Zoo), Austin Reich (Zoo Boise), Courtney Cordova (Henry Vilas Zoo), Hannah Tilden (Woodland Park Zoo), Liz Gilles (Minnesota Zoo),

The committee elected Shana Kent and Liz Gilles to serve as co-chairs until all-committee chair elections later this year. The committee also prioritized their upcoming work for the next year and will work to set a date for a long-term committee planning meeting later this year. You can see their agenda <u>here</u>.

Strategic Learning Committee

Chair: Jessica Schellhorn (Blank Park Zoo)

Representatives: Cam Whitley (Western Washington University), Dani Ford (ZooMontana), Kelly McAdams (Clearwater Marine Aquarium), Jennifer Gauble (Saint Louis Zoo), Monica Digre (Como Park Zoo & Aquarium)

The committee began identifying goals for a learning group they are hosting in November around fostering empathy for plants. View our agenda <u>here.</u>